Author Topic: 2021 Northern California Season Championship--Matt Boroughf Trophy  (Read 285 times)

Mike Josselyn

  • #62 Uhoo
  • Active Member
  • U20 Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 150
2021 Season Championship—Matt Boroughf Trophy
Northern California Ultimate 20 Fleet

The Season Championship is to recognize those skippers, crew, and boats that consistently participate in races held in Northern California or other races recognized for promoting and supporting the Ultimate 20 class in the region.   The Matt Boroughf Trophy for the Season Championship will reward those skippers who score the best in races where two or more qualified U20s race using a High Score Averaged Scoring System.   This system places more emphasis on those races with a higher number of participants; however, any race with two or more qualified boats will be scored.   

The following races will be considered as part of the series:
•   TYC Midwinters held in 2021 (each race day will be scored separately)
•   Three Bridge Fiasco (SSS)
•   Big Daddy (RYC)
•   San Diego NOODS
•   Don Won Regatta (TYC)
•   Around the Rocks (SSS)
•   Go for the Gold Regatta
•   Behrens Regatta (TYC)
•   Lake Yosemite Spring Regatta (LYYC)
•   Delta Ditch (Stockton YC)
•   Trans Tahoe (TYC)
•   HO Lind Series (TYC) (each race day will be scored separately)
•   Pacific Coast Championships
•   North Americans
•   Jazz Cup (SBYC)
•   Vallejo 1-2 (SBYC)
•   RYC IntraClub Series (RYC)—each race scored separately
•   Great Pumpkin (RYC)

Other races may be added by notification to the Fleet Captain that two or more Northern California boats are registered to participate and the race is held on the west coast. 

1.   Only Ultimate 20’s owners can enter the U20 Season Championship.
2.   Owners must be registered as 2021 U20 Class Members.
3.   All boats shall be equipped and raced in accordance with the current Class Rules.
4.   Owners shall sail all races.   If their own boat is not available, they may charter another boat for the event.   In distance races, owners may rotate with Crew.
5.   Owners that sail in at least three events will be considered eligible for the series.
6.   To qualify for the season championship trophy, an owner must sail in at least seven events either from the list above or as added by consensus during the season. 
7.   Should Covid restrictions cancel more than two events during the season that are not later made up through rescheduling or adding another event to the list above, the total number of races that are required to be sailed will be reduced by one for every two events not held.
8.   No championship will be awarded if there are only 4 qualifying events sailed by two or more boats.
9.   Owners that sail in the PCC or North Americans, it will be counted as two events towards the seven events to qualify for the trophy. 
10.   Boats will be only scored against other eligible boats (e.g. those that sail three events) during the season.
11.   The Championships will be determined by using the High Point Averaged Scoring System (see below).
12.   A change in the rules may be made during the year by unanimous consent by the boats in the series.   
13.   If there is a tie, the tie will be broken by the better scoring boat at the events where the two boats were directly competing.   
14.   The Season Championship will be awarded after the Great Pumpkin regatta.